‘DIE BOERSEUN EN DIE ROOINEK SOUTIE’

The New Rainbow by Craig Lock

The New Rainbow people

 

Go to

PART FOUR: SOUTH AFRICA, “the still beloved country”
‘DIE BOERSEUN EN DIE ROOINEK SOUTIE’

Tags (key words): books, South Africa, Rian Malan, My Traitor’s Heart, great books
MY TRAITOR’S HEART by RIAN MALAN
Blood and Bad dreams:
A South African Explores the Madness in His Country, Hias Tribe and Himself
Published by Vintage (1990)
                        *
Then he (Malan) started to write the book South Africa wanted him to write. The book about how and why we kill each other, ‘My Traitor’s Heart’.

“How do I live in this strange place?”
– Bernoldus Niemand, from the Boer reggae song, ‘Reggae Vibes Is Cool’      
                             *
Don Mattera (former gang leader, known as “Bra Zinger”)
I don’t know it will end, but I can tell you HOW it began.
                                                            “We were poised on the cusp of history”

“The tide of history had turned”

“On the trash-heap of history”

‘mlungu’ = white man

“It might be hard for you to understand this being an outsider; but South Africa holds the souls of its sons and daughters in an almost inescapable gasp. History cast all of us in a strange and gripping drama, but I had deserted the stage. I had no idea what my role was, and felt I would never be whole until I found out!”

“I didn’t learn about the paradox by living in South Africa’s white suburbs; I learnt about it on the police beat.”
– Rian Malan

“To live in Africa, you must know what it’s like to die in Africa.”
– Ernest Hemingway
“It’s a celebration of a man’s unique vision, a vision which reaches out and shines, touching with magic the drama of life across it’s limitless horizons.”
– anon


Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “‘DIE BOERSEUN EN DIE ROOINEK SOUTIE’”

  1. craiglock Says:

    Reblogged this on BOOKS BY CRAIG LOCK.

Leave a Reply

