One voice against silent killer

Unsung Heroes: People Shining a Light in a Sometimes Dark World

One voice against silent killer

5:00AM Saturday Jan 12, 2008

By Sheryl Garratt

The above article was sourced from http://www.nzherald.co.nz/christianity/news/article.cfm?c_id=500818&objectid=10486365&pnum=4

Tags: Mary Crockett, South Africa, Sheryl Garratt, heroes, New Zealand Herald,

“That is my only challenge,” she smiles. “The treatment. Otherwise, I’m ready to work, I’m ready to do everything.”
On Sunday afternoon we went back to the hospice, where I met Pulane – although I’m not sure she was aware I was there. Grey-skinned and stick-thin, a shadow of an 18-year-old, she had only hours to live. The staff didn’t have a full name for her; she’d been dumped outside two week ago, so ill that she could only whisper her first name. Pulane died that night. By the morning, when we returned, another patient had been collected and was lying in her bed.
Mary officiated over the lonely funeral the day after I left South Africa. Before we…

View original post 703 more words

